We Are Scientists, O2 Empire Shepherd’s Bush

In order to be fair to We Are Scientists (WAS), this is probably less of a gig review in relation to them and more of a muse on the evening overall.

This was the first time any of us had been to the O2 Empire at Shepherd’s Bush. It was smaller than I expected. That’s fine, some of the best gigs I’ve been to have been to have been in some of the tiniest venues (although also the worst; I’m looking at you, Dragonforce).

Due to public transport challenges and the need to eat, we missed the one support act and arrived about 20 minutes before the main event. This was to be my third gig using earplugs. I’d rather not wear them but having gone to roughly a gig a month for the last 3 years, I started to realise that the ringing in my ears afterwards was lasting days rather than hours and I was probably on a slippery slope towards hearing loss. I did a bit of research and settled on some earplugs that were transparent (street cred retained) and apparently intended for concert use: to filter out the dangerous decibel levels whilst allowing the sound through. This could be complete bollocks but I’ve bought into it. Normally I use the support act to fit my earplugs and wiggle them round until they’re comfortable and allow me to hear the music. Because we were a little late, I couldn’t do that tonight so I spent the first few songs trying to adjust until things seemed right. I know earplugs are good for me but they do take away something of the atmosphere. Normally the sound at a gig embraces you like a duvet; there’s something bizarre about hearing live music damped. The absolute worst thing is that if I sing along, the only thing I can hear is myself. This is a fucking horrendous noise that I have not paid good money to listen to. In order to get into the swing of things, I have therefore taken to miming à la 90’s boyband.

I ended up taking the earplugs out at one point tonight because the sound was so crap. It turned out that I wasn’t the only one who thought that. I don’t know whether it was the venue or the band’s fault. It did seem to improve a little as time went on so something must have been adjusted. Earplugs or not, it never sounded that good.

We were in the lower standing area. We find ourselves gravitating towards the back nowadays. We’re not teenagers anymore and I don’t like large groups of people at the best of times. Being at the back is the only way to get a decent amount of breathing (and moving) space. Normally this is not an issue, however at Shepherd’s Bush being behind the bulk of the crowd leaves you on a raised platform higher than the stage. As a very small person I’m used to having a terrible view at gigs. I always manage to see something though and it’s never impeded my enjoyment: I still feel like I’m right there. At the Empire, if you’re on the platform by the rear bar, because you’re above the stage, if someone stands in front of you, you can see fuck all. You end up going even further back to try and get on the rear steps. In this position the view is poor and the acoustics are terrible. I appreciate that every venue will have its sweet spot in respect of sound but I’m used to it being consistently good – maybe not perfect – wherever you stand. I don’t know whether things improved the further forwards you were; I’m not prepared to compromise my anxiety to get right amongst the crowds in order to find out.

It’s a shame because it detracted from the reason we were there, to see WAS. They played a decent set, including most, if not all, of my favourite songs. WAS were their usual selves with plenty of impromptu banter between themselves. The gig went quicker than expected but I think that’s because I knew far more songs this time round. The last time I saw them was exactly two years ago in Koko, one of my favourite venues. Despite only knowing their most famous songs then, the whole evening just felt more…fun. Tonight was a bit flat; there was nothing wrong as such but I think the inferior acoustics and crappy stage view just put a dampener on it.

I think We Are Scientists was the first gig JC and I went to having pledged to see more live music and more of each other. To me, the music of WAS represents friendship and evokes memories of a great summer. That memory seems a bit greyer after tonight.

Bottom line: I’d go and see We Are Scientists again tomorrow, given the chance. It’d be something pretty fucking special to get me to pay to go back to O2 Empire Shepherd’s Bush.

Leave a comment